Profound. Profundity.

These are the words that flitted through my head today as I looked at blog after blog after blog of people seeking Twitter followers via giveaways. (Yes, I am that sucker!) While I only but glanced at the Twitter descriptions in my urgency to complete all 54 entries for the likely less-than-worth-it giveaway, even yet there was only one that caught my eye enough to bother clicking on the link.

I don’t know about you, but I am seeking something profound. Something that moves me. In literary terms (according to Google), “profound” means, “The vast depth of the ocean or of the mind.” Stemming from the French language, it originally (and in my take continues to this day) meant to express great insight. Merriam-Webster’s definition of profundity is “intellectual depth.” Personally, I seek more than proof of a person’s intellect. That is, I want to see inside that person, experience what s/he has experienced – through the words, not in actuality – and glean truth and meaning and, yes, encouragement even.

Through the sharing of our souls – of the deepest, truest, most sincere parts of ourselves – we can grow while at the same time enabling others to grow (whether by intellect, emotion, or otherwise).

img_1647.jpgSo when next we speak, or write… share with me your true being. I beg of you to give me something more than the laissez-faire chit-chat and meaningless noise (that becomes white noise) in our society. When you share on Facebook, or Twitter, or some other social media offer up something of yourselves. I am not suggesting one preach, or complain (my biggest irritation is people filling up social media with how bored they are!), or even offer up cheery-but-overused (and thus now meaningless) words but rather to share what speaks to your soul. What moves your spirit.

May we move on to deeper and greater things. I include myself in this admonition or remonstration – goodness knows I am guilty of the things of which I speak! My hopes are that though this post speaks of nothing new under the sun, that it will at the very least tempt you to express “the vast depth of… [your]… mind.”

RELATED LINKS:

“There is nothing new under the sun, but there are lots of old things we don’t know.” — AmbroseBierce

Be Yourself

“A wonderful fact to reflect upon, that every human creature is constituted to be that profound secret and mystery to every other.”
― Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities

