Tags

, , , , ,

Although my darling is not yet old enough to start school officially, I found myself stumbling upon homeschool sites. All while innocently searching (albeit not very well!) for preschool pages. I didn’t actually use that term, “preschool” because a couple of years ago he was, well, 2.

Yes, yes, I am the eager beaver! I just wanted to begin some research so that when he was ready, I would be, too! Who knew that starting from scratch would yield (and continue to yield) so many results?? I would never have believed it when I first began my search. And so now two years have passed, my darling has grown older and still I find myself locked to the internet, awash with farrrrrrr too many resources.

What, pray tell, have I narrowed down during this two years of research (and, yes, teaching, too!)? I can honestly say that I have NOT narrowed it down to any one (or even 3 or 4) curriculum package or even method of teaching. What I have come to realize is how true it is that what works for one student (or child) will not necessarily work for another.

Yes, a no-brainer, I know! But to see this actually proven is far more valuable than to merely hear it being said.

That being said (that what works for one may not for another), I have also come to the realization that the question is not really

“To homeschool or not to homeschool?”

In fact, it’s not really about homeschool vs public (or private) school.

Truly.

Think about it: We’ve already agreed (right?) on the axiom “What’s right for me may not be right for you.” This then naturally leads to the acknowledgement that it is not the ‘school system’ that is the enemy (not that everyone feels so strongly; this is merely a hyperbole), but rather… well… dare I say it?

Perhaps it is the parents. <gasp!>

The primary caregivers are ultimately the ones who adamantly oppose or insist on something.  Do we always give first thought to the child? Or are we sometimes so caught up in what we think is “right” that we lump the aspects of society together, assuming …. ah well we all know what happens when we assume, yes? (It makes an a** out of “u” and “me”)

This thought is not new. I have seen, to my surprise, many parents who send 1 or more of their children to traditional school while homeschooling the other(s). I think these parents see the way far more clearly than those of us who are caught up in a limited belief system. And to those parents I say enthusiastically: Way to go!

May we all strive to be so open, giving, and self-less. In every aspect of our lives.

