Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friendship. A true friend, for me, is hard to find. A real friendship survives disagreements, even arguments; a real friendship lasts despite geographic location; true friends easily pick up ‘right where they left off’ when they meet again…

A FB post/image recently reminded me of that. Someone commented to a friend that they definitely disagree on a lot, but that they are still great friends. Sometimes I wonder at the people I consider my ‘best’ or very close friends, and then I see a comment on a post like that, and I cease wondering. Some friendships have no rhyme or reason, and yet there it is: strong, solid, always. Often the ones that have made the most logical sense to me have been the ones that have not lasted, and I have been hurt and aghast that a mere relocation issue (for example) could change things.

I would guess that I am like many others and assume that my very good friends know who they are – after all, if we are such good friends, they ought to know already know, by default, right? Sure, they ought to… like back in the day, when the her old man worked all day so for course she and their kids knew he loved them: after all, he went to work for them everyday, didn’t he? Hopefully we as a people have graduated since then, but life does get busy, even too busy to properly take care of, thank, and hug (even virtually) those people that mean so much to us.

My friends have been here for me through transplants, graduations, an engagement and marriage, a baby shower, a critically ill newborn, and have been there during some calmer, not-so-momentous times as well. Regardless of my state (or country!) of residence, my friends remain true through it all, thick and thin, hell or high water, rain or shine…

My husband, my true friend

My husband, my true friend

In fact, one very good friend has been around since before we were teenagers. I spewed curse words at her I hadn’t even known I knew (that is a strange sentence – grammarians?!?), and then stomped out of her house, claiming I was running away. And yet she remains a friend. Never once has she ever even hinted at doing that to me, or thrown that back in my face. Doesn’t matter that it was over half my lifetime ago; I still feel

Me, Mama & Infant Edan

Me, Mama & Infant Edan

bad about it. She was the only person in my life and I took ‘it’ all out on her, the only one who did not deserve one iota. And she just stood there and took it, never a retaliation one. And I have since committed injustices to her, to my chagrin, not meaning to in the LEAST – and yet she continues to love me. That is one very true friend. And we have many differences and have not lived in the same geographic location for years and years.

My longtime bestie

My longtime bestie

I love having true friends. The ones that forgive, even when – nay, especially when – I do/say idiotic things that hurt them to the core and yet … those people… they know my heart and see past my ‘blonde moments’ and the times my focus to do right by another ends up hurting them by default because I have not thought through carefully enough. I try, oh how I try to keep things just and fair and to ensure no one is hurt/left out forgotten – – don’t we all? And true friends – they know this!! Yes, they get hurt in the process sometimes, but they rise above it and love us through it because they know our hearts and know we would never do anything, ever, to hurt them intentionally.

And this is what happens when you take your own pics (sorry Vicky!)

And this is what happens when you take your own pics (sorry Vicky!)

I just want to say thank you to my friends out there. Not all of you read my blog, I know, so this doesn’t really count. I will be sure to let you know in person if we are in the same geographic location; I will be sure to let you know in a letter/email/phone call/txt or some other message just how very much I appreciate you.

A true friend loves you for who you are, even after s/he knows everything about you.

Are you a true friend? Remember – you have to be one to have one. I hope you have at least one person on your mind right now that you plan to reach out to today.

What can you do today to be a friend to someone, anyone?

