Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It's not that hard to say no

It’s not that hard to say no (Photo credit: cheerfulmonk)

My toddler is independent in his genes as well as from how he has been thus far raised. Heard of the terrible two’s? The DAY he turned 2 it hit. And have you heard that it gets worse when they turn three? Guess what… the DAY he turned 3 it hit. Not the day of his party, thank goodness, which was the day before, but the DAY OF HIS THIRD BIRTHDAY. Oh my gosh. That was 10/21. So it has been a few weeks now that my independent, opinionated, outgoing, strong-willed son and I have been going at it, so to speak. A battle of wills, one might say.

I can even agree with him on what he wants to do and he can suddenly decide to throw a fit. I told myself that he must be coming down with something, so I tried cuddling. THIS could not be my child, throwing tantrums, saying NO, fussing all the time. Not my normally happy, charming, teasing darling Edan!

And then I saw this article about allowing kids to talk back and it wasn’t just the hair on the back of my neck standing up; my lip curled up and my eyebrow arched and if looks could kill (and if I could have seen the author of that article), he would have dropped right there on the spot.  Fortunately for him, looks can’t kill, I couldn’t see him, and, incidentally, I hadn’t yet read the article.

I decided to, more for arguments’ sake than for anything else, I think. Tell me what YOU think!! (He’s a clinical psychologist, by the way, with a couple of children of his own.)

The Reason Every Kid Should Talk Back to Their Parents | Kelly M. Flanagan.

