Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I just love the idea of reaching out to the community. I have done it in so many different aspects, long before working in the library and archival field.

From speaking out about the importance of organ donation, scheduling entertainment, organizing volunteers, and simply handing out water to marathon runners, I have striven to get involved.

Looking northeast at Poppenhusen Branch of Que...

Looking northeast at Poppenhusen Branch of Queens Public Library on a cloudy midday. NYCLPC designation 2000. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What I have for you today is a link to one of Queens, New York‘s Public Library systems amazing list of programs: http://www.queenslibrary.org/events/?filters=ev_loc:91900000 .

I am amazed that it involves not only face-to-face options, but teleconferencing and Skype activities, as well! And the face-to-face options include something I daresay not many of us would have even considered! Take a look!

The Queens library system has been recognized for its outstanding success and commitment to the community. The county comprises nearly 200 different languages, and, despite the severe budget cuts, the System has done amazing things. Here is the link for the article: http://www.queenstribune.com/news/News_011713_QueensLibraryHitsHighMarks.html#.UZkf6SKSP_I.facebook

Hopefully this will inspire you as it has me!

