This post should actually be under “Book Reviews” but I don’t know how get it there as a “reblog” without copying and pasting, so… here ya go. From one of my followers, and a blogger/author I follow. Enjoy!

Individual Empowerment

Quiet by Susan Cain, books for introverts, introverts in societyQuiet: The Power of Introverts In a World That Can’t Stop Talking, by Susan Cain.

I really enjoyed this book since so much of our culture moves too fast and loud way too often for my tastes.  Susan covers the science of why and how we become more introverted or extroverted.  She surmises that it is a mix of brain function and environment. When you read it you get to learn fun names for parts of our brain and body like the amygalda(plays a key role in emotions), limbic system( set of brain structure controlling various bodily functions), neocortex(high functions such as sensory perception), and prefrontal cortex(short term and long term decisions making).

If you are an introvert or simply don’t understand introverts this could be your book.

I was called an introvert often when I was younger and HATED it because I thought it meant weak and scared…

View original post 200 more words

