Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

“It’s the little things that count,” I’ve heard. That’s one topic I could go on about, that I’ve thought about a lot since returning home from my trip to Washington, D.C..  I’ve also heard, “don’t sweat the small stuff.” That’s another topic I could spend some time on, since I do tend to focus on the small stuff. Now, take the two of them together, and there is another whole topic in and of itself. The difficulty I’m having this morning, and through my sleepless night, is which one to tackle.

I do not disagree that it is the little things that count. But we know that big things can account for one’s joy, as well.  I believe that the present is the very fabric of our lives.  Years ago I read The Precious Present by Spencer Johnson. It rings as true today as it did then, I’m sure. Many others have written, discussed, or otherwise communicated the same idea. Coming up with ideas, brainstorming, learning or teaching a new skill, doing something that requires focus causes us to be in the moment. In the present.
Some people have learned to meditate or find some method of focusing on the moment, perhaps via deep breathing. I, however, find that when I focus on calming myself, breathing deeply and calmly, quieting my mind, it merely serves to put me to sleep. Some might call it lazy, or lack of self-control (which I actually have a lot of in some areas!)… I like to sleep, so when I get relaxed, boy do I get to it. For me, then, to stay in the present, I need to 1) either be doing something

that requires my full attention and not try to multi-task or 2) not get focused too much on doing a task like laundry that I miss out on the enduring fabrics of my life.
Impish grin

Impish grin

Fabrics that make up my relationships, my life, will not endure if not nurtured and strengthened. My darling Edan, for example, when he gives me his impish grin, so proud of himself for keeping his bed dry all night long, knowing he will get a surprise for it, will discontinue this if I ignore him.
When mIMG_6259y husband walks up behind me and puts his hand on the small of my back, gently kissing me on the cheek as I do dishes, is so endearing. It is, to me, the meaning of marriage. Two people choosing to live together for the sake of being together. It is what I longed for when I was single.
Memories are woven into our lives, and that of our families, throughout our lives. On Good Friday my Nanny & Papa (my grandparents), came to see us. It was such a joy having them all here.  And Edan loved it, too. Nanny brought him one of her infamous cookie houses,

Nanny's famous Cookie House
which traditionally are for Christmas, but this one was decorated for Easter. I said to Edan, “Wasn’t it nice to have Nanny and Papa and Uncle Johnny here?” and he responded with an enthusiastic “yes!” The next day he said, “tell the Nanny story” wanting me to reiterate the day’s events. And then I ended it with “It was nice having Nanny and Papa here, wasn’t it?” and he said, “And Uncle Johnny, too!” Although he is not yet 3, he has an excellent memory, like both hIMG_6290is daddy and my Papa, and I have a feeling these memories just may stick. At any rate, these are memories I had dreamed of making someday: as an adult, I had hoped one day to have a child to experience my Nanny and Papa as I had been able to do. And now that hope, that dream, is being realized. And for that I am so grateful.
But what about those big things in my life? What about the fabrics of my life that make are my kidney transplants, my wedding day, my darling Edan being born? And what about those in-between moments – the ones that are not the ‘daily’ fabric of my life nor the major life events… such as the trip I just took to D.C. True, that hardly ever happens, a time for me to take a vacation with a friend. Neither is it monumental. But still important.
Because not only did I enjoy the moments I had with my friend, catching up with her and visiting the LOC and NARA, but it also reminded me to embrace the precious present of daily life upon my return home. Those that know me well will appreciate the fullness of that statement by the following:
A day or two after my return the weather was a nice cool 60-something degrees. I had the urge – yes, the urge – to work in my small flower garden. It happens. Sporadically. In between my forgetting to watering the plants. So I knelt and began pulling weeds. Before I knew it, I was actually enjoying myself, save the tiresome, irritating, bee and bits of “glistening” under my arms (because we all know that ladies don’t sweat!). I could not believe the difference that cooler weather and lack of insects had made on my entire outlook, including my detest for pulling weeds. All that is to say, that even my in-between moment in DC enabled me to enjoy my moment pulling weeds back in my small, dying flower garden.
Therein lies my argument for enjoying each fabric of our precious presents; not just the small stuff not just the big moments but all of that and the stuff in between, too. I mean, if I, of all people, can return from vacation and find myself enjoying pulling weeds, of all things, complete with with a buzzing bee, who knows what else the fabric of my life might weave together?
As far not sweating the small stuff? Well, that bee sure had me sweating. I mean, glistening. Even though it was tiny, I don’t want to be stung. And I get defensive when there’s a reason to and when there’s no reason to, without a doubt. So I guess I’ll go into that nice deep relaxive meditative state and sleep it off.
© Christina D. George and The Treasure Trove, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Christina D. George and The Treasure Trove with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

