Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Economics

     Economics (Photo    credit: Dr Phil)

I have been reading a lot lately about people simplifying their lives (or wanting to) or, what’s another way to put it.. paring down, maybe? I believe this is the third article I have come across in two days that refers to living more simplistically. Come to think of it, I was just on John Michael Talbot‘s site, and, if I had to venture a guess, it would be that he probably lives quite simply, or sparsely. That is to say, without a lot of “stuff” filling up his life and space. Personally, I enjoy a lot of space and am not looking to downsize to a 425 square foot dwelling like the man did in one article I read. But lately I am enjoying (again) getting rid of things. And I like things. I really do. It’s just that, as much as I like them, they tend to annoy me, because then I have to dust around them, pick them up, move them, clean them, or <gasp> STORE them. Unless it holds great emotional value, why store it. If it holds monetary value, why store it? Cash it in, right? If it is building monetary value, maybe I should put it in a bank vault where I don’t have to worry about it. (Another article I read mentioned how much concern our things cause us.)

WordPress says the blog is “Freshly Pressed.” I don’t know if that means it’s a new blog, but I can tell you one thing: the author is NOT a novice. It’s a good read because it’s well written and has worthwhile information as well. Enjoy!

Field Notes From Fatherhood

My oldest son squirms and mopes in his economy class seat, flouncing like a 1920’s film starlet and sighing deeply enough to drive a small wind turbine. He’s bored. He’s been on this stinking plane for almost an hour, and he wants off.

Some perspective: We’re on the second of two 1 1/2-hour hopscotch flights to Spain, on our way to visit the picturesque Mediterranean seaside town in which we will soon be privileged to live. The ride is smooth, the temperature in the plane comfortable, the view from the window of the French Alps piercing a pristine carpet of cloud. We’ve just come from the Business Lounge of the Zurich airport, one of those rarified spaces reserved for those fortunate (or unfortunate) enough to rack up ungodly air miles, where we sat in plush leather seats and ate free gourmet food prepared and served by people who may…

View original post 916 more words

