Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A plaque commemorating the discovery of (sirol...

A plaque commemorating the discovery of (sirolimus) on (Easter Island), near . The plaque is written in Brazilian Portuguese, and reads: In this location were obtained, in January 1965, soil samples that allowed for the obtainment of rapamycin, a substance that inaugurated a new era for organ transplant patients. An homage from the Brazilian investigators, November 2000. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So I wasn’t sure if I should rant and rave first, or if I should write about what I was contentedly brainstorming about with someone else who is in my shoes. But who can write ‘contentedly’ when the ranting and raving is waiting to come out?

I really am too young for this. Here I am, shopping for groceries and stuff with my toddler. It’s all fine, despite too many others there doing the same thing, and even my little boy is it putting up with the shopping fine. And then I have to start looking for a damn blood pressure monitor to replace my old one. Yeah. Mine. MINE. I’m too young for this. Monitor my vitals every day, twice a day? Really??Image C’mon. Give me a break.

No big deal, you say. Right. Shouldn’t be. I’ve only been doing it since I was 17, over half my lifetime ago, after all. Therein lies the problem. I was too young then, with my 1st transplant  and I am too young now, 2 more transplants later.

And then I think about little Rory, who I posted on a few days ago. At least, I posted about her on my other blog. She is 3, and needs a bone marrow transplant. She has a 5-20% chance of survival. Her parents are not a match. They are desperate to find a match for her.  All of the sudden, I cannot feel woeful or depressed about taking my vitals twice a day, or my handful of meds twice a day, or feeling nauseated, or achy, or … any of that. I can only feel very, very grateful to my 3 amazing organ donors and their families (thank you so much, Dad, and the 2 other mystery givers) who extended my LIFE.

I could have died at 17 if doctors had not discovered what was wrong with me. (It was congenital, and I was within a week of death by the time I was diagnosed.) And then, each time I needed a transplant, I could have died on dialysis, waiting… But amazing, giving, generous people that I know not how to thank stepped forward and now here I am, ABLE to take my vitals, ABLE to breathe, ABLE to enjoy the son I thought I would never have… You just never know what life will bring you, both ups and downs.

  • English: Donna Mansell, Double heart transplan...

    English: Donna Mansell, Double heart transplant recipient, on her wedding day. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

     

English: A diagram showing pairwise kidney exc...

English: A diagram showing pairwise kidney exchange between incompatible donor pairs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

According to donatelife.net:

  • More than 115,000 men, women and children currently need lifesaving organ transplants.
  • Every 10 minutes another name is added to the national organ transplant waiting list.
  • An average of 18 people die each day from the lack of available organs for transplant.

And this leads me to my next post… Stay tuned!

