Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The title of this post, Passion, might tend to conjure up ideas of Valentine Day-types of passion, but that is not exactly what I’m referring to, in this case. I’m thinking more along the lines of Oxford’s definition:

strong and barely controllable emotion.

“passion”. Oxford Dictionaries. April 2010. Oxford Dictionarie

s. April 2010. Oxford University Press. 19 February 2013

<http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/passion&gt;

I’ve been pretty moody lately. I think it’s because of my passion. Yes, as I write this, it occurs to me that when others in my life are moody it is often due to their passion(s) as well. Not to say a passion should make one moody!  But when we don’t follow it (or at least I and the people to which I just referred), or are confused about what it is to DO with the passion(s), it can make us moody.

What’s your passion? What is your “strong and barely controllable emotion”?

  • Do you desire to help others?
  • Is all the terrible news in the world just too much?
  • Are you looking to volunteer somewhere?
  • Are you tired of being sick and tired?
  • Do you have a new idea for a non-profit business ?
  • Is a healthy regimen out of reach?

NOW – what are you going to do about it?? Well, just in case I hit on any of your passions above, I’ve included some links for some resources below that might help you or end up leading you to some other resources that could end up helping you find what you need. In any case, this list could be an idea-starter for all those other strong and barely controllable emotions out there that I didn’t hit on. Happy hunting, fellow Passion-seekers and finders! Remember to breathe on the way!

stiff neck? sore back? or hold stress in your shoulders? these stretches along with BREATHING are great to relieve pain, soreness & stiffness..

  1. Philanthropy, big and small – If you are not interested in going through formal volunteering processes, consider helping out a neighbor with yard work or sharing a meal with him/her/them. The neighbor may be going through a tough time and need a sitter for the pet(s). There also many forums out there but not enough people getting responses. (For example, I am part of Patients Like Me and looked forward to responses but because I didn’t get any, I stopped visiting the site after awhile.) Consider small acts of kindness such as engaging in conversation with a stay-at-home mom (here, here!). Also, check out these sites for bigger ideas to fill your passion if the little ones don’t cut it: http://philanthropy.com/section/Home/172, http://www.economist.com/blogs/newsbook/2013/02/philanthropy
  2. Too much bad news – consider turning off NPR (preaching to my husband, here!) for one entire day and see if that helps any.  Start slowly weaning away from being an all-news junkie and see if your mood begins to improve. It’s okay to have a passion for news, but when it your outlook on the world is continually negative and you are afraid for your child to leave your sight, it is time to reign it in a little bit.
  3. Volunteering – Your local library, archive, museum, or other public facility is generally happy to have volunteers! Libraries often have need of volunteers for activities from helping to re-shelve books to helping with books-to-home projects for home bound patrons. (I loved volunteering for my local library so much I went back to school to get my Master’s in Library Science!) There are also community organizations such as the local Boy Scout or Girl Scout chapter, Big Brothers program and other Youth programs. Retirement Communities have activities for the residents and enjoy volunteers coming in to help with these. For more ideas, you can look at these websites: www.volunteermatch.orgwww.redcross.org, www.serve.gov/, volunteer.gov/www.idealist.org/info/Volunteerwww.voa.org,
  4. Sick & Tired – I often get sick and tired of being sick and tired so I hear ya! When this happens, I have to take time to just breathe. Even my toddler has to wait. Yes, a toddler. Waiting. Imagine that! Sometimes life does get put on hold (with the help of others) and “me” time has to happen to let go of the terrible, strong and barely controllable emotions of sickness. After I get back to breathing(!), then I take a nice long shower (sometimes this happens simultaneously). Sometimes it takes a little weepy time in bed. Sometimes an entire day out – alone – so that do not find myself cleaning up. Now, for me, I have a chronic condition, so that is why my suggestions are as such. Find what works for you! In the meantime, I googled “tired of being sick and tired” and came up with these sites (which I am NOT recommending because I haven’t even read them, but only glanced at them and thought perhaps a reader might find something useful): http://www.experienceproject.com/groups/Am-Sick-And-Tired-Of-Being-Sick-And-Tired/8799, http://thedailylove.com/are-you-sick-tired-of-being-sick-tired-then-read-this/, http://www.amazon.com/Tired-Being-Sick-overlooked-healthy/dp/1616384670
  5. NPO Resources – my library has a special database available for patron access only that lists a TON of organizations and businesses that are wanting (yes, WANTING!) to give money to help non-profits! Ask your local library about this database. Also, you may want to check out http://philanthropy.com/section/Home/172
  6. Eating Healthy – Sometimes the very thought of eating well puts me in a tailspin. But when I DO eat healthy sometimes it feels so GOOD I can’t imagine why I would ever eat all those unmentionables again! Of course, I do… Check out the pins I’ve put up (but have NOT tried yet so don’t hold me to anything! ha) on my Pinterest board called Mmm-Good: http://pinterest.com/christinageor/ and tell me what you think. I try to only put up healthy looking/sounding things. Unfortunately for me, I am more of a collector and disseminator of information than an actual user of it!

More interesting (or not-so -interesting, depending on your tastes!) links below. Happy hunting, fellow Passion-seekers and finders! Remember to breathe on the way!

http://zenhabits.net/passion-and-purpose-in-life/

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/prescriptions-life/201205/five-steps-finding-your-passion

*Please note that I do not advocate or claim to know anything about any of these organizations or sites. I am only offering resources and information and am not responsible for outside parties. Thank you.

